

COUNCIL: 24 JULY 2014

AGENDA ITEM: 18

REPORT OF COUNTY CLERK & MONITORING OFFICER

NOMINATIONS TO COUNCIL COMMITTEES AND PANELS

Background

1. The Council at its Annual Meeting on 29 May 2014 elected the Chairs and Deputy Chairs (where appropriate) of Committees established by the Council; and received and approved nominations from political groups to the seats allocated on each Committee.

Issues

Committee Membership

- 2. Appendix A sets out the Committee Membership including the vacancies as at 18 July 2014.
- 3. The Council has the following Member vacancies on Committees:

Licensing Committee	one vacancy
Public Protection Committee	one vacancy
Community & Adult Scrutiny Committee	one vacancy
Environmental scrutiny Committee	one vacancy
Policy Review & Performance Scrutiny Committee	one vacancy
Health & Safety Advisory Committee	two vacancies

4. Political Groups have been asked to provide formal notification of nominations to the Proper Officer for inclusion on the amendment sheet.

Legal Implications

5. Sections 15 to17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 lay down requirements designed to ensure that there is political balance on Committees (this requirement does not apply to a Standards Committee).

Financial Implications

6. Assuming that the number of Committees remains unchanged there are no additional financial implications arising from this report that have not been included within the Council's budget for 2014/15.

RECOMMENDATIONS

The Council notes the nominations received for the vacancies on Committees as set out on the amendment sheet;

MARIE ROSENTHAL County Clerk and Monitoring Officer 17 July 2014

Appendix A – Full List of Committee Membership and vacancies

CITY OF CARDIFF COUNCIL CYNGOR DINAS CAERDYDD



COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 2014/15

Cabinet

(9 Members)

Councillors **Bale (Ldr)**, Bradbury, De'Ath, Derbyshire, Elsmore, Hinchey, Lent Magill and Patel

Ordinary Committees

Planning Committee

(12 Members: 7 Labour, 3 Liberal Democrats, 1 Conservative and 1 Independent)

County Councillors Ali Ahmed, Manzoor Ahmed, Aubrey, Burfoot, Gordon, Hudson, Hunt, Lomax, **Michael (Chr)**, Phillips, Thorne (Dep Chr) and Robson.

Licensing Committee

(12 Members: 12 Members: 8 Labour, 3 Liberal Democrats and 1 Conservative)

County Councillors Manzoor Ahmed, Aubrey, Bridges, Hudson, Kelloway, McGarry, Derrick Morgan, Murphy, **Parry (Chr),** Simmons, and Benjamin Thomas. (1 vacancy)

Public Protection Committee

(12 Members: 12 Members: 8 Labour, 3 Liberal Democrats and 1 Conservative)

County Councillors Manzoor Ahmed, Dilwar Ali, Aubrey, Bridges, Howells, Hudson,McGarry, Derrick Morgan, Murphy, **Parry (Chr)**, Simmons and Benjamin Thomas **(1 vacancy)**

Constitution Committee

(12 Members: 7 Labour, 3 Liberal Democrats, 1 Conservative and 1 Independent)

County Councillors Aubrey, Cowan, Goodway, Gordon, Hinchey, Hyde, Knight, Lent, Magill, Marshall, Walker and Woodman

Employment Conditions Committee

(8 Members: 5 Labour, 2 Liberal Democrats, and 1 Conservative)

County Councillors Bale, Burfoot, Davis, Hinchey, Margaret Jones, Joyce, Walker and Walsh

Council Appeals Committee

(9 Members: 6 Labour, 2 Liberal Democrats, 1 Conservative)

County Councillors Manzoor Ahmed, Bridges, Hinchey, Javed, Lent, Murphy, Benjamin Thomas, Walker and Woodman

Audit Committee

(Council Members 5 Labour, 1 Liberal Democrat, Conservative & 1 Independent; and 4 Independent Members Panel

County Councillors Cowan, Howells, Marshall, McGarry, Mitchell, Murphy, Walker and Weaver.

Sir Richard Lloyd-Jones, Prof Maurice Pendlebury and **Sir Jon Shortridge** (**Chr**); (1 vacancy).

Standards & Ethics Committee

(9 Members: 1 Labour, 1 Liberal Democrat, 1 Conservative, 5 Non-Council Members and 1 Community Councillor)

County Councillors Lloyd, Phillips & Dianne Rees

Dr James Downe, Maureen Hedley-Clarke, Deidre Jones, Paul Stockton, and Richard Tebboth. Community Councillor John Hughes

Democratic Services Committee

(12 Members: 12 Members: 7 Labour, 3 Liberal Democrats, 1 Conservative and 1 Independent)

County Councillors Dilwar, Ali, Bridges, Chaundy, **Cowan (Chr),** Goddard, Hinchey, Hyde, Lomax, McKerlich, Murphy, Benjamin Thomas and Weaver.

Scrutiny Committees

Children and Young People

(13 Members: 6 Labour, 2 Liberal Democrats, 1 Conservative and 4 Co-opted)

County Councillors Boyle, Chaundy, **Richard Cook (Chr)**, Davis, Gordon, Govier, Murphy, Dianne Rees and Thorne.

(1 vacancy) (Church in Wales representative) & Mrs P Arlotte (Roman Catholic representative); Ms Catrin Lewis (Parent Governor representative); (1 vacancy) Mr Jukes (Parent Governor representative)

Community and Adult Services

(9 Members: 5 Labour, 2 Liberal Democrats, 1 Conservative and 1 Independent)

County Councillors Burfoot, Carter, Goddard, **Groves (Chr)**, McGarry, Lomax, Sanders and Graham Thomas. (1 vacancy) S:\Council\Council 2014-15\Reports\24 July 2014\Item 18 - App 1 - Committee 2 Membership list as at 18 July 2014.doc

Economy and Culture

(9 Members: 6 Labour, 2 Liberal Democrats and 1 Conservative)

County Councillors Dilwar Ali, Aubrey, Corria, Howells, Javed, Stubbs, Weaver, **Craig Williams (Chr)** and Darren Williams.

Environmental

(9 Members: 6 Labour, 2 Liberal Democrats, and 1 Conservative)

County Councillors Clark, Hyde, Lomax, Marshall, McKerlich, Merry, **Mitchell** (Chr) and Walsh (1 vacancy)

Policy Review and Performance

(9 Members: 5 Labour, 2 Liberal Democrats, 1 Conservative and 1 Independent)

County Councillors **Howells (Chr)**, Hunt, Knight, Lloyd, McGarry, Murphy, Robson and Walker. **(1 vacancy)**

Other Committees

Corporate Parenting Panel (Minimum of 8)

Political balance requirements do not apply.

County Councillors Chaundy, Davis, De'Ath, **Evans (Chr),** Goddard, Lent, McKerlich and Murphy

Appointments Committee

To comprise 5 Members for the appointment of Corporate Directors and Chief Officers, in both cases from those appointed to serve in accordance with the rule on political balance.

Disciplinary & Grievance Appeals Committee

To comprise not less than 3 and not more than 5 members from those appointed to serve in accordance with the rule on political balance.

Working Groups

Works Council

Councillors Bale, Burfoot, Hinchey, Walker and Walsh

Health & Safety Advisory Group

Councillors Groves, Hinchey (Cabinet Member) and Walsh (2 Vacancies)